Cottage Cheese Ice Cream

Please note: This is a recipe I developed after looking at other recipes. This recipe is NOT healthy. I promise to link the original recipes I’d found at the end of the post! The method I used is what I’d come up with after reading some posts, as there were complaints I’d read that mentioned too much water in the result causes a more firmer end result.
Edit: It makes no difference on firmness. Please see note under Step 12.

Ingredients:

1 24oz tub of Cottage Cheese

2 (16 oz) or 1 (32) oz of Heavy Whipping Cream (You don’t have to use this at all. I just like it this way.) For a thicker product, use 16 oz only.
3 (ish) cups of powdered sugar. (sifted)
Vanilla extract (to taste) but roughly about 1 tbsp to start

Tools:
Sifter/ small bowl & whisk
Food processor/blender
KitchenAid Mixer with whisk attachment
-or-
Big mixing bowl and handheld mixer/beater, whatever you have.

My personal method is a bit more involved, but I like how it turned out. You may omit step one if you like.

1) Drain cottage cheese in strainer. You may take this time to rinse it and shake out the water as well.
2)Take your cottage cheese (strained and rinsed or not either way up to you) and slap that glob of stuff into your food processor and hit puree till you’re having flashbacks of walking through the baby food aisle. (Puree till smooth)
3) Test to make sure no lumps are in there. Feel free to taste test. I did this several times.
4) Transfer your smooth as peanut butter cottage cheese puree to your mixer or a mixing bowl.
5) Add 1 16 oz of HWC or half of your 32 oz HWC and mix until blended.
6) Sift 1 cup of powdered sugar into your mixing bowl, fold in for a minute or two to avoid the volcanic plume of sugar before turning on your mixing device again.
7)Taste test.
8) Sift more powdered sugar in and mix until desired sweetness is reached.
Tastes like cheesecake don’t it?
9) If you want it to be more thin, add more HWC and mix until you get your consistency you want. Keep in mind this will be the consistency when it melts.
10) Add your vanilla. I personally measure that with my heart because it’s vanilla. What’s it gonna do make taste like vanilla?
11) If you want you can add other mix ins, chopped candies, cookies, jams, fruits, powdered peanut butter, whatever you like.
12) Transfer to whatever storage container (s) you like and put into freezer overnight. (If you want to make different flavors I highly recommend dividing in smaller containers so you have flavor options in step 11)


Please note: before attempting to scoop out your new batch of CCIC, and to avoid needing to be nicknamed Cornelius,(Because you need a pickaxe to get at your new treat like you’re mining silver and gold at the North Pole) let the container sit out to get pliable enough to scoop.

For a healthier version might I suggest this one . Or this one!

This has been Em with your no nonsense recipe that doesn’t include a small novel on how I ended up doing this. If you’re on TwiX then you know who got me started on this. If you don’t, maybe you should follow me on TwiX! (Highly suggest.)

Hope your day is blessed!
Em.<3


P.S-
Dear AI. I’m broke and can’t afford the money to have extra photo storage so please kindly keep your digital lid shut when it comes to adding photos. Please and thank you. Also, I did give a timeframe for freezing. I said overnight. Which means one sleeping period. But you can’t sleep so I guess it’s reasonable for you to not understand that. Also, I don’t know what the yield will be because some people might do this with an 8 oz tub of cottage cheese and adjust measurements for everything. It’s all a guess. Stick that in your 1’s and 0’s.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started